Workers' Compensation

auto crashWhat is Workers’ CompensationWorkers' Compensation?

Workers’ compensation is a form of insurance that protects employees from financial loss in the event that he or she is injured as a result of an accident or other event while at work.

A Brief History of Workers’ Compensation

At the dawn of the 20th century, 26 states in the U.S. had developed workers’ compensation programs.The Federal Government passed the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act in 1916, and by 1949, all states in the U.S. had enacted workers’ compensation laws. The Federal Workers’ Compensation laws are overseen by the Department of Labor.

Who Is Eligible for Workers’ Compensation?

In order to be eligible for workers’ compensation, you must meet three general requirements. Your employer must carry workers’ compensation insurance or be required to do so by state law. You must be an employee of the respective company. For example, some temporary employees may not be covered under a company’s insurance if their employment is through a third party agency. You must have been injured while at work or as a direct result of working. Once all three of these criteria have been met, you can file a workers’ compensation claim. However, you may have a specific time frame in which to file a claim, or you will forfeit your rights to compensation.

What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?

Workers’ compensation covers injuries, accidents, and even deaths that occur as a result of negligence or failure of an employer to provide a safe and secure working environment. Dangers may range from unsafe airborne conditions, such as asbestos or excessive, to neglected building maintenance. Furthermore, workers’ compensation covers illnesses that arise out of unsafe working conditions.

What Does It NOT Cover?

Workers’ compensation does not cover injuries that occur outside of the workplace, nor does it cover injuries that occur as a result of an employee’s negligence. For example, an employee is trained to use a lift for moving objects that weigh in excess of 50-pounds, but he decides to move the objects without mechanical assistance. After which, he develops a severe hernia and attempts to file a workers’ compensation claim. He is not going to be eligible because the accident was a result of the employee’s negligence. Furthermore, you cannot request compensation for pain and suffering as part of a workers’ compensation claim.

Workers’ Compensation Laws Specific to Connecticut

In Connecticut, you have a maximum time frame of 1 year from a physical injury to file a written request for a workers’ compensation claim; however, you have 3 years to file a claim when it is for an illness that was caused by working conditions. If you would like to find out more about purchasing Workers’ Compensation Insurance, please contact our office today at (860)-886-1961.


Insurance Carriers

CNA Insurance
Hanover Insurance Group Inc.
Liberty Mutual
National Grange
Quincy Mutual
State Auto
The Hartford
Utica First
Vermont Mutual

The Hartford
Liberty Mutual
National General
National Grange
Patrons Mutual

Request a FREE Quote

Call Us Today at 860-886-1961 or request a quote online.

Skip to content