Waitte's Insurance Agency
Serving the area for over 100 years
Waitte's Insurance Agency
Serving the area for over 100 years
Waitte's Insurance Agency
Serving the area for over 100 years
Waitte's Insurance Agency
Serving the area for over 100 years

Top 5 Scenic Routes for Fall Foliage in Connecticut

Fall Foliage

Every fall, while the rest of the country is lamenting the end of summer and dreading the coming of winter, New England is experiencing a uniquely beautiful experience – the gradual shift from summer to fall foliage throughout the region’s forests. This seasonal event brings vibrant hues of red, orange, and yellow to the leaves of trees throughout the state of Connecticut, and because of their widespread nature, the best way to enjoy them is by car. Thankfully, the state is full of scenic routes, all of which become even more beautiful in fall when the leaves change color. This fall, head out for a drive along these top five scenic routes:

1. Connecticut River Loop

This scenic drive takes a combined four state routes into one loop that circles the Connecticut River, crossing the water twice and winding along its banks from Old Lyme to East Haddam. Along the way, it passes through the picturesque towns of Essex, Centerbrook, Deep River, Chester, Haddam and East Haddam; all of which display the fall foliage to its greatest extent, combined with charming shops and a small-town atmosphere. The drive between towns is spectacular as well, with the forested banks of the river providing a perfect backdrop for the fall colors.

2. State Route 169

This federally designated National Scenic Byway takes you from the Massachusetts border to Jewett City, passing through numerous historic towns and sites along the way. The highlight of this drive is the abundance of maple and pine trees, which provide a spectacular color-changing show in the fall.

3. Colchester and Salmon River

A large part of this loop follows state routes 16 and 149, looping around Salmon River State Forest in the process. This drive takes you from quiet, wooded lanes to scenic towns to the undisturbed woodlands of the state forest, which is the perfect place to view fall foliage due to its abundance of spectacular trees.

4. Merritt Parkway

Merritt Parkway, a 37-mile National Scenic Byway, passes not only through prime fall foliage areas but also crosses over numerous historic and beautiful Art Deco bridges in the process. Get ready for an explosion of color when you take on this short but scenic drive.

5. Litchfield Hills

There is nothing quite like the sight of rolling hills colored in all shades of red, orange, yellow, green, and everything in between. That is exactly what you will experience in the Litchfield Hills, in northwestern Connecticut. You can craft your own drive through this region, or follow a general route along Route 7 from Norfolk to Litchfield.

As we are all looking forward to the breath-taking landscapes that Connecticut provides in the fall, it’s important to remember proper maintenance for your vehicle or motorcycle before embarking on your scenic journey. This would, of course, include having adequate auto insurance. To review your current automobile or motorcycle policy,  contact Waitte’s Insurance Agency, Inc.

Laws & Restrictions for Teenage Drivers in Connecticut

Teenage Drivers

Chances are you couldn’t wait to get your driver’s license when you turned 16. However, you probably never guessed that there would be so many steps you had to take before you could get on the road, or that even after receiving your license, you still have to navigate numerous laws and restrictions until you turn 18. Teen driving may be difficult, but this guide can help clarify a few questions you may have.

When is a teenager eligible to acquire their learner’s permit?

The minimum age to receive a learner’s permit in Connecticut is 16. You must have a learner’s permit before beginning to learn how to drive; you can apply for a permit by scheduling an appointment at your local DMV office.

What is required by Connecticut law in order to obtain a learner’s permit?

To receive your learner’s permit as a 16 or 17-year-old, you must first obtain parental consent, and collect the necessary paperwork that can serve as identification (for example, your birth certificate or U.S. Passport). Then, you can schedule and pay the $40 test fee for your DMV appointment online through the Connecticut DMV website. At your appointment, you must take and pass a vision test and a knowledge test, which determines your knowledge of Connecticut driving laws with 25 questions.

What are the restrictions for drivers with only a permit in the state of CT?

Restrictions on teen driving include limiting your passengers to parents, guardians, or qualified instructors while you are training to receive your license; you also may not use any cell phones (even if hands-free) while driving.

What training courses are required? What must a driver complete before becoming eligible for a driver’s license in CT?

A driver must complete 40 hours of practice driving and 30 hours of classroom training (or 22 hours of home training and an 8 hour Safe Driving Practices course). To fit these requirements, a driver may choose a commercial driving school, driving classes at his or her high school, or home driving lessons. Once at least 120 days of classroom training or 180 days of home training have passed, the driver is eligible to take the road test at the DMV and obtain a driver’s license.

What are the legal restrictions for teenage drivers up to the age of 18?

Before turning 18, teen drivers may not drive between the hours of 11 PM and 5 AM, unless it is for school, work, religious, or medical reasons. They must also use permanently installed seat belts, and may not use cell phones or hands-free devices while driving. For the first six months after receiving their license, drivers can only have parents, guardians, instructors, or people over 20 (who have held a driver’s license for at least 4 years) as passengers; for the second six months, this is expanded to include immediate family.

In addition to these restrictions for teenage drivers, Connecticut law requires drivers of all ages to purchase automobile liability insurance. Provide yourself peace of mind and contact Waitte’s Insurance Agency, Inc. to add your teenage driver to your current insurance policy.