If you are a smoker, you can pretty much bet on an increase in the premium you pay for health insurance. Many agencies are cracking down on health insurance for smokers because, in the long run, smokers are more costly to care for when it comes to their health. But how do you know if you qualify as a smoker? In Connecticut, you are a tobacco user if you have used tobacco 4 or more days during one week in the past 6 months. If you are quitting or only use tobacco occasionally, you may not even qualify as a smoker. This is important to understand as it could save you a lot of money.
How much more money will tobacco cost you when it comes to health insurance? According to the Affordable Care Act, you can be charged up to 50% more for your premium. This is called a tobacco surcharge and it is starting to apply to premiums offered by many companies. But in reality, it costs you much more than that. Smoking can cost you your health in general. Even if you can afford the insurance premium, it can cause things such as cancer, heart disease, stroke, emphysema, and respiratory complications. So is it really worth it to be a smoker?
The costs for premiums go up so much because not only does the cost of healthcare increase over time for a smoker, but it also serves as an incentive to quit. Many smokers are looking at other options so that they can improve their health and save money over time on their health insurance premiums. Smokers can also save money on premiums by joining programs to help them quit. Such programs are offered by ObamaCare as well as other insurance carriers. Now is the time to quit. You could save your life and you will definitely be saving money.
Are you a former smoker who has successfully kicked the habit for good? Please share your experience in the box below to not only help others save money on health insurance, but aid them in becoming healthier as well!
The Winter winds are finally subsiding and the warm open road is waiting for you to get out and ride! But after leaving your ride in storage for the Winter, it’s important when preparing your motorcycle to check all of your safety equipment and review the laws and regulations to ensure your next road trip ends safely.
Motorcycle Laws and Regulations in CT
There are some important motorcycle safety regulations to keep in mind before you take yours out on the Connecticut roads. Eye protection is mandatory unless your vehicle has a windscreen, and if your bike was manufactured after 1980, daytime headlight use is required. Also, remember that riding two abreast in one lane is prohibited.
The Connecticut Rider Education Program for Motorcycle Safety offers four skill levels of courses which are available to all riders. You may also be eligible for a 10% discount on your motorcycle insurance policy by completing a rider education course in Connecticut.
Although Connecticut law does not require motorcycle operators over the age of 18 to wear a helmet, doing so is one of the most crucial steps you can take to ensure your safety! According to state motorcycle accident statistics, in more than two-thirds of fatal motorcycle crashes the driver wasn’t wearing a helmet. Don’t skip this simple and essential step! Other requirements in Connecticut include having at least one rear-view mirror and a properly functioning muffler.
Restrictions for Riders Under 18
Riders under the age of 18 years old MUST wear a helmet at all times and are also required to complete a rider education course.
Before you bask in the Spring sunshine, take the time to review your motorcycle insurance policy to make any necessary updates. A compulsory liability insurance policy is the minimum requirement in the state of Connecticut.
Does your current motorcycle insurance policy need to be reviewed or updated? Before you begin preparing your motorcycle for the beauty that New England has to offer during the Spring, contact Waitte’s Insurance Agency today and receive a premium quote!